Me Before You — Review!

First and foremost, I just want to say: my heart has been well and truly broken.

I was so hesitant about reading this book, especially after it was made into a movie and my sister came home from the cinema a bawling mess of emotions, because we all know that a great deal of the time, the books are so much better than the movies. With this in mind, I put off watching the movie until I’d read the book, which I started a couple of days ago and had just finished a few hours ago.

What can I say? It’s beautifully written and it certainly takes you through a rollercoaster of emotions. Even though I knew how it ended (my idiot sister told me as soon as she saw me pick the book up, which may or may not have led to me throwing the book at her face), I still hoped that Louisa was getting through to Will, and it’s safe to say I sobbed like a child who’s been told ‘no’ when he still went through with his plans.

I’m not an easy crier. I think the only thing that ever truly makes me really cry is animal abuse, or thinking of the poor stray animals out in horrible weather. This book, however, I repeatedly had to put down because I couldn’t even see the words.

At times it could be frustrating and I just couldn’t understand why Louisa’s love wasn’t enough, but I guess that’s the point, isn’t it? Several times in the book, it states that us ‘able bodied’ couldn’t understand how it feels to be in the position of those who are paralysed and suddenly have to rely on others. It’s really opened my eyes. In Will’s case, he’d gone from an independent man who was (I think) a CEO of a big company, who did all these crazy things, like bungee jumping and whatnot, to not even being able to feed himself. I just can’t imagine how that must feel.

Anyways, I’m rambling. For those of you who bother to read my rare blogs: go and read the book! It’ll shatter your heart into a million pieces, but it’s such an amazing book. It truly does make you feel so grateful for the life you’ve been given, because no matter how bad it seems, there’s someone who’s worse off somewhere in the world.

Leave a Reply

