A Movie Is Never As Good As The Book

Okay, so recently, I read Me Before You, by Jojo Moyes and for those of you who read the previous blog, you know that I was utterly broken by it. I actually put off watching the movie because I didn’t want to become an emotional wreck all over again.

Tonight, however, I decided to just go for it. My sister-in-law bought me the DVD for Christmas, aware of the fact I’d never watched it and how I like to be introduced to new things. So it sat on my shelves of DVDs, sad and unopened until tonight, when I finally grew some balls and just watch it.

I was sorely disappointed.

I’ll agree that it must be difficult fitting so much into two hours, but there was so much that they cut out of the movie! The book goes into much finer detail, into the things that made Louisa Clark the way she was when she first met Will (I won’t say what they are, because I hate spoilers so much), and how their relationship developed. They changed many of the smaller details, or cut them out completely. The movie made it seem rushed and insincere. They even cut out the little story she told Will right at the end.

I’ve always heard the phrase ‘a movie will never live up to the book’, but I’ve always thought the people who said that could shove their books up their asses. Now I kind of agree with those people. I mean, there are so many books that I prefer to the movies now that I’ve actually taken the time to read them and it just makes me wonder.

Is there a reason why movies have to be less than two hours long? If given more time, could they live up to the fans’ expectations after reading the book?

Leave a Reply

